Back
Stopover 01/12
Back to stopovers

Civilisations and lost islands

Du 12 September 2019 au 27 November 2019
South-east Pacific

Actions carried out

Kite-surf, stand-up Paddle in the South-East Pacific Sea on Rapa Iti, Adamstown, lagon de Ducie islands and under the look of the Mana of Moai.

Interventions in three educational structure to raisa awareness among 80 children on the importance of water and the associated pollution risks.

Study and filming of Maewan web series’ “the impact of civilisations and our natural resources”.

Summary of the stopover

Rapa Iti is the island further away in Polinesia. Replenishments do not get there often, and the locals would not want more of them. The local community wants to keep their rhythm and their relation with nature for a sustainable development path for the future.

With this rare experience in our bags, we reach the Pitcairns islands, not inhabited but deeply touched by industrial civilisations. Further ahead, we reach the famous Easter Island. We learn from the Moai the impact of  mass tourism.

Further east, we are on route to reach the mysterious Podesta island, which appears or disappears according to who visits her. It’s on Selkirk Island that we discover a community of fishers.  Finally, we reach the Patagonia’s channels after days of navigating in heavy storms.

Team

Partners

Retour
1 sur 12
Retour aux étapes

Civilisations et îles perdues

Du 12 septembre 2019 au 27 novembre 2019
Pacifique Sud-Est

Actions réalisées

Kite-surf et stand-up Paddle dans le Pacifique Sud-Est: Lagon de râpa iti, Adamstown, lagon de Ducie island et sous le mana des Moaï.

Intervention dans 3 structures avec formations de 80 enfants de 8 à 13 ans à l’importance de l’eau et des polluions qui lui sont liées.

Étude et tournage d’un épisode de la web-série environnementale Maewan: « Impact des civilisations sur les ressources naturelles ».

Résumé de l'étape

Rapa Iti est l’île la plus éloignée de Polynésie. Les ravitaillements sont peu fréquents et ils n’en voudrait pas plus. La communauté souhaite garder son rythme et son rapport à la nature pour une gestion durable tournée vers l’avenir.

Fort de cet exemple rare, nous atteignons les îles Pitcairns inhabitées mais profondément marquées par les civilisations industrielles. Plus loin sur la route, nous atteignons la célèbre île de Pacques. Nous apprenons des Moaï comme nous découvrons l’impact d’un tourisme effréné.

Toujours plus à l’Est, un rocher sort de l’eau… le temps d’une plongée, nous repartons vers la mystérieuse île Podesta qui apparait ou disparait selon son visiteur. C’est à Alejandro Selkirk que nous découvrons une communauté de pécheurs insoupçonnée. Puis, c’est poussé par une violente tempête que nous atteignons avec fracas la porte nord des canaux de Patagonie.

Équipage

Partenaires